Take My Stuff and Pay Me For It – Genesis (not the band)

I don’t like giving stuff away, even if it means getting money back in return.  This must change.

It seems I’m increasingly less impressed just by my collections of things, especially because I went about all such collections half-assedly. I also had to concede that, because most music is now bought and enjoyed digitally, having CD jewel cases on display not only seems like a waste of space, but also a somewhat dated (dare I say cliché?) male interior design choice.

Seriously – what’s the point of displaying jewel cases anymore – to prove that you go somewhere and buy proper albums instead of going online?  Is that a claim to fame nowadays?  It’s seems pitiable, and very nearly a failed attempt at elitism. Now, if I was a vinyl junky it would still be cool to have crates of that shit sorted in my apartment, Rob Gordon style, but I am not.  I never got into vinyl. I do not own a record player.  So it’s time to say “bye-bye” CDs and hello to whatever money a record store will give me.

I can’t get rid of ALL my albums at the same time though… they’re my most-prized, but still poorly maintained and disorganized collection. Baby steps.

I decided to start weeding out the ones I never listen to, or will feasibly never take out of their cases again.  Everything was fair game, so long as it is also stored on my external hardrive backup.  This logic only half makes sense. Apparently, I’m only comfortable giving up something I never use so long as I could feasibly use it sometime in the future.  However, this does explain why I have pairs of jeans in my closet that have never worn, never plan on wearing but can’t bring myself to give away.

“So”, I comforted myself, “you’re not really losing any of these albums, just the physical manifestation of them.”  Yes.  That’s still off-putting though, isn’t it?  What is it about saving things on a computer that makes you feel still slightly uneasy?  Why do we still print out important emails?  Why am I abstractly distrustful of Google’s “cloud computing”.  For me, I guess the physical presence of an item is a comfort — an increasingly wasteful, expensive, and unnecessary comfort.  (Just like most comforts!)

So, recalling some Buddhist-like advice (“It doesn’t matter where you start, only that you finish,”)  I grabbed my topmost CaseLogic that was topped by a fine layer of dust, and opened it up to the M-through-P discs.  I then sat my ass down in front of my cheap sleek Sweedish black-painted wood media center and got crackin’…

I’ll try to document my little adventure more later this week.

3 Responses to Take My Stuff and Pay Me For It – Genesis (not the band)

  1. Tim says:

    I made it a mission to get rid of my entire CD collection on ebay last year, after years of slowly weeding out CDs I don’t listen to. I came to this conclusion: It’s a hell of a lot of work. I paid for a program called GarageSale that sped up the ebay listing process some, but even then it took forever. I did get like $350 or so for the entire collection, minus maybe 20 that no one bought. I think the smartest thing I did was sell some bundles, like “15 grunge CDs” or whatever. Anyway, I felt a lot, lot better once they were all gone. But if I had to do it again, I might just dump them all off to Goodwill or something.

  2. Brian Battle says:

    ahh. I’m having some trouble letting them go. Plus, they’re not buying as many as I hoped. It’s all about condition, apparently, and my disc (my old ones atleast) are in terrible condition.

  3. Rob says:

    I’ll give you $5 for your Better Than Ezra albums.

Leave a Reply

